Arun Chattopadhyay

Prof. Arun Chattopadhyay


Ph. D. (Columbia University)
Research Area: Thin Films, Membrane Sciences, and Nano Science & Technologies.
Group Website

  • Education

    • B.Sc Hons (Chemistry) at Presidency College, Calcutta University.
    • M.Sc (Chemistry) at Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur.
    • M.Phil (Chemical Physics) at Columbia University.
    • Ph.D (Chemical Physics) at Columbia University.
    • Post. Doc. at Standford University.

  • Experience

    • Head, Department of Chemistry, 2009 to 2014.
    • Head, Centre for Nanotechnology, 2004-2009.
    • Management Committee Member of Institute School, 2001.
    • Warden, Hostel (IITG), 1996-1998.
  • Teaching

  • Awards


    • Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences.
    • Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.
    • Young Career Award in Nano Science and Technology (2013),
      DST (Nano Mission).
    • Materials Research Society of India Medal – 2008.
    • Swarnajayanti Fellowship (DST); 2003-2004.
    • Elected a Member of Sigma Xi, The Scientific Research Society, Columbia University, 1992.
    • Pegram Award, Columbia University, 1992.
    • J. M. Miller Teaching Assistant Award, Columbia University, 1989.
    • R. B. Ghosh Travel Award, Calcutta University, 1988.
    • Best Undergraduate Student in Chemistry Award, IIT Kanpur, 1988.
    • Student Benefit Fund Award, IIT Kanpur, 1987-88.
    • Student Merit Award, IIT Kanpur, 1987.
    • National Scholarship Govt. of India, 1981-1988.


    • Member, Academic Council of Assam University Sichar (2013-2016).
    • Member, Task Force on Nanobiotechnology, DBT: Since 2012.
    • Programme Advisory Committee (PAC, Physical Chemistry) member, DST: 2012-2015.
    • Editorial Advisory Board Member: Nanoscale (Royal Society of Chemistry), Jan 2012-December 2014.
    • Editorial Board Member: Journal of Chemical Sciences  (Indian Academy of Sciences), Jan 2008-Jan-2012.
    • Programme Advisory Committee (PAC, Physical Chemistry) member, DST: 2007-2012.
    • Project review and steering group (PSRG); DIT, Govt. Of India (12 April 2006 – 2012).
    • Member, DBT, Expert Panel on Translational Research Potential, 22 February 2012.
    • Member, Scientific Advisory Council, 15 February 2010 – present, IASST, Guwahati.
    • Member, Advisory Council, Regional Science Centre, Guwahati.
    • Member, Facility Maintenance Council, Centre for Instrumentation, Gauhati University.
    • Member, Advisory Group, Sophisticated Analytical Instruments Facility, NEHU, Shillong.
  • Patents

    • Arun Chattopadhyay; Anumita Paul; Srestha Basu; Amaresh Kumar Sahoo. A device for visual detection of bilirubin. File no. 631/KOL/2015.
    • Arun Chattopadhyay, Anugrah Singh, Nagaraju Rao Pinjala (Submitted through TIFAC, New Delhi); EVAPORATION INDUCED LITHOGRAPHY (Submitted - 2007).
    • Chowdhury, Devasish; Paul, Anumita; Chattopadhyay, Arun Colored nanolithography on glass and plastic substrates PCT Int. Appl. 2004, 15 pp. CODEN: PIXXD2  WO  2004045858  A1  20040603  CAN 141:14476  AN 2004:453113 CAPLUS.
    • Chattopadhyay, Arun; Paul, Anumita; Chowdhury, Devasish Colored nanolithography on glass and plastic substrates U.S. Pat. Appl. Publ. 2004, 7 pp.  CODEN: USXXCO  US  2004101616  A1  20040527  CAN 140:431411  AN 2004:430468  CAPLUS.