IITG Mathematics Seminar Series

About Seminar Series  

IITG Mathematics Seminar Series came into being on 6th March 1996 with the inaugural lecture fittingly delivered by Prof Jyotiprasad Medhi, definitely the best mathematician in northeast India and a person respected all over the globe by Mathematics community.

To mark the completion of 100 talks of IITG Mathematics Seminar Series, Mathematics Day was celebrated with a full day programme on 21st August 2004, which also coincides with the birthday of the famous mathematician Augustin Louis Cauchy. Prof. Pradip Niyogi (Retd. Professor, IIT Kharagpur) and Prof. Kalyan B. Sinha (Director, ISI, Kolkata) delivered the 99th and 100th talks respectively.

Special lectures 125 and 126 by two eminent mathematicians were arranged to mark the completion of ten years of IITG Mathematics Seminar Series on 8h March 2006. Professor C.S. Seshadri of Chennai Mathematical Institute, Chennai and Professor Swadhin Pattanayak, Institute of Mathematics and Applications, Bhubaneswar delivered those lectures.

Past Conveners: M. Prabhakar, Meenaxi Bhattacharjee, Swaroop Nandan Bora, Durga Charan Dalal, Arindam Sengupta, Bhaba Kumar Sarma, Natesan Srinivasan

Venue: Departmental Seminar Hall

Time: 1600

Contact Us | IITG Home | IITG Email | Telephone Directory | IITG Intranet
© 2020 Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati. For queries contact mathoff@iitg.ac.in