Alumni Symposium on Mathematics and Computing (Online)

September 19 & 20, 2020

About The Event


To enhance interaction between Alumni and Alma Mater, the Department of Mathematics, Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati is organizing the Alumni Symposium on Mathematics & Computing (Online) on September 19 & 20, 2020. On behalf of your Alma Mater, we cordially invite you to attend this online symposium. PhD Alumni are invited to submit abstract of their talk to on or before August 30, 2020.


Online/ Video Conference


Saturday and Sunday
September 19 and 20, 2020

Event Schedule

Here is our event schedule

Click on the Name of the Speaker to see the profile/webpage of the speaker. Click on the title of talk to see the abstract of the talk.


Prof. T. G. Sitharam, Director, IIT Guwahati and Prof. Rakhi Chaturvedi, Dean of Alumni & External Relations have kindly consented to address the alumni.

E-Souvenir will be released by Prof. T. G. Sitharam before his address

Session-1: Chair: Prof. Swaroop Nandan Bora & Co-Chair: Dr. Bhupen Deka

Date: September 19, 2020 (Saturday)

Lunch Break

Session-2: Chair: Dr. Rupam Barman & Co-Chair: Dr. Vinay V. Wagh

Date: September 19, 2020 (Saturday)


Speaker-6: Dr. Shubh Narayan Singh, Central University of South Bihar, Gaya

Title of the Talk: On Certain Semigroups of Transformations that Preserve a Partition


Speaker-7: Dr. Dishari Chaudhuri, IISER, Mohali

Title of the Talk: The Twisted Derivative Problem for Algebras


Speaker-10: Dr. Chiranjit Ray, HRI, Prayagraj

Title of the Talk: Certain Eta-Quotients and l-regular Overpartitions

Panel Discussions:

Topic: Recent Trends in Research in Mathematics & Computing (Panelists: Prof. Anupam Saikia, Prof. Shreemayee Bora (Moderator), Prof. Partha Sarathi Mandal, Dr. Palash Ghosh, PhD Alumni & Current PhD Students)

Topic: Experiences on Online Teaching & Learning (Panelists: Prof. B. K. Sarma, Prof. Shreemayee Bora (Moderator), Prof. K. V. Krishna, Dr. Subhamay Saha, PhD Alumni & Current PhD Students)

Session-3: Chair: Prof. M. Guru Prem Prasad & Co-Chair: Dr. Jitendriya Swain

Date: September 20, 2020 (Sunday)

Click here to join Day-2 & Session-3 Talks Live


Speaker-11: Dr. Shreemayee Bora, IIT Guwahati

Title of the Talk: Nearest Rank Deficient Matrix Polynomials


Speaker-14: Dr. Punit Sharma, IIT Delhi

Title of the Talk: Computing Nearest Stable Matrices


Speaker-15: Dr. Manideepa Saha, NIT Meghalaya

Title of the Talk: On Semipositive Cones and their Extremals


Speaker-16: Dr. Debkumar Giri, IISc Bangalore

Title of the Talk: Fourier Uniqueness Sets for the Hyperbola

Lunch Break

Session-4: Chair: Prof. Kalpesh Kapoor & Co-Chair: Dr. Gautam Kumar Das

Date: September 20, 2020 (Sunday)

Click here to join Day-2 & Session-4 Talks Live


Speaker-17: Dr. Biswajit Deb, SMIT, Sikkim

Title of the Talk: On Characterization of 2-Path Signed Graphs


Speaker-20: Dr. Shibsankar Das, Institute of Science, BHU

Title of the Talk: On M-Polynomial of the Third Type of Hex-Derived Network

Alumni Interactions:

Click here to join Alumni Interactions (Will be updated around 2 pm on 20th Sep)

Alumni Sharing their Experiences and Interacting with current students (Participants: Dr. Biswajit Das, Dr. Dishari Chaudhuri, Dr. Rupam Barman, Dr. Bhupen Deka, Mr. Rakesh Jana, Mr. Avijit Das)

Contact Us

Key Members of Local Organizing Committee:

Prof. Shreemayee Bora, Dr. Rupam Barman, Dr. Bhupen Deka

Scientific Committee:

Prof. M. Guru Prem Prasad, Prof. N. Selvaraju, Prof. Shreemayee Bora, Prof. Partha Sarathi Mandal, Dr. Rupam Barman, Dr. Bhupen Deka, Dr. Biswajit Deb, Dr. Subash Chandra Martha, Dr. Tarakanta Nayak, Prof. Milan Nath, Dr. Ankur Kannaujiya.

E-Souvenir Committee:

Prof. Swaroop Nandan Bora, Dr. Bhupen Deka, Prof. Shreemayee Bora, Dr. Himadri Nayak, Dr. Sunanda Saha, Dr. Dishari Chaudhuri, Dr. Punit Sharma.


Phone Number

+91 0361 2582650