This Subject Includes

  • Course No: HS 146
  • Course: B.Tech
  • Semester: V
  • Title: Introduction to Modern Indian Political Thought
  • Stream: Political Science
  • Preamble: Modern Indian Political Thought is one of the fascinating areas of scholarly debates and discussions in contemporary India. It also signifies a shift away from excessive reliance upon Eurocentric views, methods, and concepts to study and interpret Indian society and its politics. The major objective of this course is to introduce the students to some of the key modern Indian thinkers and their ideas which helped in shaping the society and politics of modern India.

    Course Contents: Raja Rammohan Roy: Religious Reforms, Modern Education & Freedom of Press; Rabindranath Tagore: Nationalism and Cosmopolitanism; Aurobindo Ghosh: Self, Community and Religion; Vivekananda: Revitalisation of Indian life; M. K. Gandhi: Hind Swaraj and the Critique of Modern Civilisation; Muhammad Iqbal: Community, Religion, and Nation; Savarkar: Hinduism and Hindutva; Jawahar Lal Nehru: Discovery of India and Internationalism; B. R. Ambedkar: Liberal Democracy and Constitutional Morality; Lohiya: Caste & Class, and views on Indian Languages; Pt. Ramabai: Gender and Caste.


    1. Guha, Ramchandra, Makers of Modern India, Penguin: Delhi, 2010.

    2. Pantham, Thomas and K. L. Deutsch eds., Political Thought in Modern India, Sage: Delhi, 1986.

    3. Singh, M. P. and Himanshu Roy eds., Indian Political Thought: Themes and Thinkers, Pearson: Delhi, 2011.

    4. Verma, V. P., Modern Indian Political Thought, Lakshmi Narayan Agarwal: Agra, 2005.


    1. Datta, P. K., and Sanjay Palshikar eds., Indian Political Thought, ICSSR & Oxford University Press: New Delhi, 2013.

    2. Mcdermott, Rachel Fell et. al., Sources of Indian Traditions, Penguin: Gurgaon, 2014.

    3. Mehta, V. R., Foundations of Indian Political Thought, Manohar: Delhi, 2013.

    4. Singh, Aakash and Silika Mohapatra eds., Indian Political Thought: A Reader, Routledge: London & New York, 2012.

    5. Vajpeyi, Ananya, Righteous Republic: The Political Foundations of Modern India, Harvard University Press: Cambridge, 2012.